Ecdysteroids structure

Guy Smagghe is Professor at the Ghent University in Belgium. His major research interests are in the areas of insect physiology, biochemistry and (eco)toxicology with a focus on more fundamental topics and also applications impacting on the field of insect pest control. Dr. Smagghe has been the author or coauthor of about 150 research publications and books. His research has been continually supported by grants from the Ghent University, IWT and FWO, and he continues to serve in different national and international committees related to his research interests. He was awarded for his professional work by the prestigious First Prize of the Belgian Royal Academia of Arts, Sciences and Linguistics, and he is an elected fellow of the Society of In Vitro Biology.

Bioassay-guided fractionation of the ethyl acetate extract from the sclerotium of Polyporus umbellatus resulted in the isolation of three new ergostane-type ecdysteroids, named polyporoid A (1), B (2), and C (3), together with five known ecdysteroids. The structures of the new compounds were determined on the basis of extensive spectroscopic data (IR, MS, (1)H and (13)C NMR, and 2D NMR) analyses. All compounds (1-8) exhibited potent anti-inflammatory activity in the test of TPA-induced inflammation (1 microg/ear) in mice, with ID(50) values in the range of - microM/ear.

Ecdysteroids structure

ecdysteroids structure


ecdysteroids structureecdysteroids structureecdysteroids structureecdysteroids structureecdysteroids structure